Olivia Colman wins two bafta awardsAnyone who is anyone from the world of TV turned out for the BAFTA awards in London last night and Woman’s Own was there.

Taking place at the Royal Festival Hall and hosted by Graham Norton, the night saw one of our favourite actresses, Olivia Colman, 39, walking away with two awards as well as trophies being handed out to Eastenders and Alan Carr.

Other winners on the night included Last Tango in Halifax, which won the award for best drama series, Mary Berry’s The Great British Bake Off for best feature and Clare Balding who won the night’s special award.

Another lucky lady to walk away with an award was Mrs Biggs star Sheridan Smith who won the leading actress gong. A clearly emotional Sheridan looked around her as she accepted the award asking, ‘Is this a joke?’.


The full winners list looks like this:

Leading Actor

  • Ben Whishaw – Richard II (The Hollow Crown)

Leading Actress

Supporting Actor

  • Simon Russell Beale – Henry IV Part 2 (The Hollow Crown)

Supporting Actress

Entertainment Programme

  • Graham Norton for The Graham Norton Show

Entertainment Performance

  • Alan Carr – Alan Carr: Chatty Man

Female Performance in a Comedy Programme

  • Olivia Colman for Twenty Twelve

Male Performance in a Comedy Programme

  • Steve Coogan for Welcome To The Places Of My Life

Single Drama

  • Murder


  • Room At The Top

Drama Series

  • Last Tango In Halifax

Soap and Continuing Drama

  • EastEnders


  • Girls

Factual Series

  • Our War

Specialist Factual

  • All In The Best Possible Taste with Grayson Perry

Single Documentary

  • 7/7: One Day In London


  • The Great British Bake Off

Reality and Constructed Factual

  • Made In Chelsea

Current Affairs

  • The Shame Of The Catholic Church (This World)

News Coverage

  • Hillsborough – The Truth At Last (Granada Reports)

Sport and Live Event

  • The London 2012 Paralympic Games

Comedy Programme

  • The Revolution Will Be Televised

Situation Comedy

  • Twenty Twelve

Radio Times Audience Award (voted for by members of the public)

  • Game of Thrones

Special award