Miranda HartThe shortlist for this year’s National Television Awards has been announced.

Miranda Hart is among TV drama stars Suranne Jones, Sheridan Smith and Doctor Who star Karen Gillan for best female drama performance, while Sheridan’s Mrs Biggs co-star Daniel Mays goes up against Benedict Cumberbatch, Matt Smith and Colin Morgan (Merlin) for best male.

Meanwhile, top talent shows Strictly Come Dancing and The X Factor will be competing against Dancing on Ice, The Voice UK and Britain’s Got Talent.

In the comedy category, Absolutely Fabulous faces Benidorm, Mrs Brown’s Boys and The Big Bang Theory.

And in drama, it’s Downton Abbey, Sherlock, Doctor Who and Merlin.

To view the full list and vote, click here: nationaltvawards.com

Dermot O’Leary hosts the awards ceremony which takes place in London on Wednesday 23 January, and will be broadcast live on ITV1.